Skip to content
May 9, 2011 / Richard La China

How a Bicycle Changed My Little Girl’s Life

Hi Friends,

For a father, although there is no difference in the amount of love that he has for a daughter or a son, there does exist something that makes the father-daughter relationship very special. I think the “special-ness” is a result of how difficult it is to cultivate that tight bond, one that seems so natural between a mother and her daughter.

About To Head Out For A Ride

Paige, About To Head Out For a Ride...

I can attest to this because of my experience with my daughter, Paige.

Like most little girls her age, Paige had always been closer with her mom, and did not really understand, or take much interest in, the sweat, dirt, and competitive vibes that so dominate my mountain bike world. However, all of that changed this past summer after Paige learned how to ride her bike and competed in her first race……

It was a beautiful summer morning, and Paige, then 5 years old, had accompanied me to a Racers and Chasers race in San Diego, California.  I brought Paige’s bike–a customized baby pink bike she helped me build with spare parts– with us thinking she might want to practice riding around a little while I was getting ready for my race. My friend, Stephen (a former Canadian pro rider), and I had taught her how to ride her bike a few weeks prior. Like a true athlete with previously untapped potential, she learned quickly. After only two and a half hours in Balboa Park, she was riding her pink bike (without training wheels!) like a young Lea Davison.

Paige Asleep in the Truck after finding the Perfect Handle Bars for Her New Bike

Paige Asleep in the Truck after finding the Perfect Handle Bars for Her New Bike

Because her skills were so new, I didn’t expect Paige to want to race that day. However, as soon as we got to the event, I noticed Paige checking out all the bikes buzzing around the staging area.  She must have felt that exciting, competitive intensity that vibrates the air at MTB races because then, out of the blue, Paige told me she wanted to race.

At the staging area for the kids race I asked her one last time, ‘Are you sure you want to race?’  Wearing her new helmet, gloves, and a huge smile she said without any hesitation at all, ‘Yes! I want to race, Dad!’

She lined up, the raced started and she was off — with a look of pure determination, she pedaled as hard and fast as she could.  Paige seemed to have it all under control until she got to a grass section of the course.  Paige was slowing down — I ran over to her and jogged beside her as she worked hard to keep her cadence up.

Paige's First Moutain Bike Race

Paige's First Mountain Bike Race

I could see she was getting tired and just about to cry,  I told her ‘Pedal baby, keep pedaling — you can do it!’  Right then, something came over her, I could see drive, passion and fire in her eyes…  She stood up on her pedals and hammered to the finish line.

Although she didn’t win the race that day, she gave it her all and I couldn’t be more proud. Not only did she show great physical strength, but she also proved that she had great mental toughness, fortitude, and self-confidence, all of which are qualities that will help her achieve success in all aspects of life.

Since then, she’s raced a few more times. She’s had her ups and downs, from beating all the boys to having her chain fall off and not being able to finish the race, but she continues to love it.  She loves riding and racing, and the best part is that she loves riding and racing with me.. 🙂

Which brings be to why I am writing this blog entry..

Over this past weekend, Paige was sitting next to me, coloring, and asked what I was doing on my computer.  I told her that I was working on helping to send two little girls to  Little Bellas mountain bike camp.  I explained to her that not all kids have Dad’s or Mom’s (or former Canadian pro riders) that can teach them how to ride a mountain bike.  I told her that I wanted to give other little girls the opportunity to experience all of the challenges and joys that mountain biking and racing have to offer so that they, too, will grow up to be strong, confident, and successful women.

When I explained further that I was working to raise the $500 necessary to make this happen, she said, ‘That’s a lot of money dad’.  A couple minutes later she came back and sat next to me with her money jar and said, ‘Daddy, I want to help’.   Maybe there was 6 dollars in there; mostly in change in odd currencies that I had brought her back from my travels…

Paige with Her Brother, Alex

Paige with Her Brother, Alex

My heart melted.  What an angel she is.

I told her we can make a bigger difference if we spread the word, which is what I was doing on the computer..  Paige wrote the letter you see below to help out.  Also, she is going to be passing out handmade fliers at our upcoming races.

So, keep an eye out for little girl at your next race with a big smile and a stack of handmade fliers — that’ll be Paige.

If you are reading this now, I hope you’ll agree, Paige has already made a difference.  If you can, please help us carry out our mission to send two deserving, less fortunate girls to Little Bellas Mountain bike camp.  I am passionate about Little Bellas mission because I know what a difference cycling can make in a kids (and Dad’s) life.

Paige and I are asking for your help to accomplish our goal of raising $500.  Together, our financial contributions will have an incredibly positive impact on two girls lives.

A Message From Paige

A Message From Paige

Click the following link to make a donation (every dollar makes a difference).. http://littlebellas.com/Little_Bellas_FirstGear_Donation.html

“A daughter can outgrow your lap, but she can never outgrow your heart.”

Sincerely,

Richard

P.S. When you fill out the donation form, you can just put in “Richard L.” for the person your donation supports.

18 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Richard / Mar 9 2011 11:17 am

    UPDATE: From today (March 9, 2011) until Friday at midnight (PST) we have a sponsor who is will match all donations! This is the best time to contribute!

    Please donate if you can — every dollar raised will go direct to Little Bellas. 🙂

    Lastly, if you could pass this link on to your friends that would be a big help.. Perhaps post it in on your Facebook wall (challenge your friends to help out)??

    You are really making a difference in two little girls lives.. again, THANK YOU! -Richard

    • CT / Mar 9 2011 12:27 pm

      I am going to publish this on my site in Sacramento. I get about 10,000 unique visits per month.

  2. Emily Fantaskey / Mar 10 2011 7:45 am

    1) Your post made me cry, darn you! 🙂

    2) And if anyone is having a problem with the ‘last name’ field, (I did, but I’m blonde, it happens) make sure you put the ‘.’ after the L cause it needs 2 characters.

    Good luck with your goal!

  3. Heidi Amundson / Mar 10 2011 11:38 am

    R,

    You are an excellent rider, writer, friend, father, and philanthropist.

    Perhaps sometime soon you, too, will be able to add the skill of “cooking 30 minute brownies in 20 min” to your quiver of good qualities. 🙂

    Little Bellas, and everyone else whose life you have touched, is very luck to have you. I’m sure you are going to reach, and even surpass your goal in no time.

    And, to help you do so, I’m doing something I hardly ever do….No, I’m not going to be on-time for something, I’m going to update my Facebook status with your blog…. I know…. Craaazy.

    • Richard [Cycle For Kids] / Mar 11 2011 9:15 am

      Thank you Heidi! I appreciate your help spreading the word.. 🙂

      NOTE.. While I do aspire to add more quality life-skills to my resume — I think I’ll keep my cooking skill-set focused to steaming things.. I seem to be good at that.. I am however, available anytime if you need help consuming your 20 (or 30?) min. brownies, or anything else. 🙂

  4. Richard [Cycle For Kids] / Mar 11 2011 6:44 am

    Today is the last day our generous sponsor is going to be matching donations. So, if you want to make a difference in two little girls lives – please help today. And, if you can’t donate today – you can really help by posting this on your Facebook wall. The majority of our fund-raising has come from people on FB who saw one of our posts and were moved to help out. THANK YOU FRIENDS!

    UPDATE: Our awareness campaign on Facebook yesterday had a tremendous impact on the world of cycling. So much so, that someone at the US National Bike Summit lobbying lawmakers to increase funding for cycling was moved to shift his focus to help get more kids on mountain bikes!

  5. Chris Abbadini / Mar 11 2011 9:14 pm

    I just clicked to you through the RAAM link and, just like one of the previous posts, I had a tear…and wanted to donate. I’m glad I saw that today was the last day for matching contribution, so I made mine. I hope it helps!

    Good luck!

  6. Richard [Cycle For Kids] / Mar 14 2011 1:43 pm

    Hi Everyone!! Thanks again for reading my Blog — we’ve almost done it! Just need a little push over the top — your donation could be the one that gets us to our goal. 🙂

  7. Chris Abbadini / Mar 14 2011 10:30 pm

    Just a quick question, I made a $100 donation on Friday shortly before my post above at 9:14 p.m. I just want to make sure it was made in time to be matched by the sponsor you had on Friday.

    C

    • Richard [Cycle For Kids] / Mar 15 2011 6:06 am

      Hi Chris! First off, thank you for your generous donation — it’s very much appreciated. All donations received before Friday at midnight are being matched, so YES – you made it in time. 🙂 I am expecting the updated totals from the guys at Specialized / Little Bellas shortly .. I’ll post them on the blog as soon as I get them. …again, THANK YOU!

  8. Richard / Mar 15 2011 8:35 am

    Hi Everyone! I just got the updated totals on our effort so far.. as of this morning we have raised $412! Wooohoooo! 🙂 We are $88 away from sending two little girls to Little Bellas Mountain Bike Camp!

    CLICK HERE to make your donation and push us over the top!
    http://littlebellas.com/Little_Bellas_FirstGear_Donation.html

    THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!

    You can see our totals here.. http://firstgear.specialized.com/ (updated weekly)

    • Richard [Cycle For Kids] / Mar 24 2011 6:40 pm

      QUICK UPDATE! We are only $50 away from reaching our goal! You can make a difference for two little girls — Can you donate $10?

      THANK YOU!

      Richard & Paige

  9. Richard [Cycle For Kids] / Mar 31 2011 10:22 am

    Quick Update — We did it!!!!! As of this morning, we have raised over $500 for Little Bellas! THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU to everyone who helped make this happen!

  10. Jenna Weinert / Apr 26 2011 3:41 pm

    Hi Richard,

    My name is Jenna Weinert and I am one of Paige’s first grade teachers. I ran across your blog when trying to find her results at the Sea Otter Classic. My husband is a mountain biker so I was quite intrigued to find out that my little Paige is a mountain biker!!!! She is an AMAZING little girl and you should be very, very proud of her. I loved looking at the pictures of her. She is so cute on her bike! I think it is wonderful what you and Paige did so that two little girls can go to Mountain bike camp.

    Jenna 🙂

  11. Richard [Cycle For Kids] / Apr 26 2011 5:46 pm

    Hi Jenna! Thank you so much for leaving your comment on the blog. I couldn’t agree more — Paige is an AMAZING little girl, I am very proud to be her dad. 🙂

    And thanks for all the hard work being her teacher, she’s lucky to have you in her life. 🙂

    Richard

  12. K / Apr 26 2011 8:15 pm

    Wow, to not only know this little girl with a heart as big of a mountain is amazing, but to be able to call her my daughter is unbelievable! I am so proud of you Paigey, I see only the sky is the limit for you.

Trackbacks

  1. Help Me Make A Difference For Two Deserving Kids! « Richard La China

Leave a comment